Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

United Nations Day for South-South Cooperation

12 September, 2021

The developing countries of the South-South Cooperation are located primarily in the Southern Hemisphere, and include Asia (except for Japan, Hong Kong, Macau, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan), Central America, South America, Mexico, Africa, and the Middle East (except for Israel). These countries have contributed to more than half of the world’s growth in recent years with intra-south trade accounting for more than a quarter of all world trade, and outflows of foreign direct investment from the South representing a third of the global flows. Under the South-South Cooperation and with support from the United Nations Office for South-South Cooperation (UNOSSC) these countries share knowledge, exchange technologies and form common agenda and collective actions to solve common development challenges. United Nations Day for South-South Cooperation is thus to support efforts to manage, design and implement South-South cooperation policies and initiatives through the identification, sharing and transfer of successful Southern-generated development solutions.


IImage: South-South Cooperation Day