Select Page

Presidents of The Graduate Union

2019 –

The Hon Diana Bryant AO QC

An Australian Jurist, The Hon Diana Bryant was Chief Justice of the Family Court of Australia from 2004 to 2017. Previously, she was the inaugural Chief Federal Magistrate of the Federal Magistrates Court of Australia (now the Federal Court of Australia). Justice Bryant chairs a working group for the Hague Permanent Bureau in relation to Article 13(b) of the Child Abduction Convention. From 1977 to 1990, she was a partner with the firm of Phillips Fox in Perth where she practiced as a solicitor and counsel specialising in family law. She was a Director of Australian Airlines from 1984 to 1989. In 2012, Her Hon was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for “distinguished service to the judiciary and to the law, particularly to family law policy reform and practice, through the establishment of the Federal Magistrates Court, and to the advancement of women in the legal profession”. She was inducted into the Western Australian Women’s Hall of Fame in 2018 in recognition of her involvement in establishing and supporting Women Lawyers of Western Australia and as a Patron of Australian Women Lawyers since 2009. Bryant holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from The University of Melbourne and a Master of Laws degree from Monash University.

2015 – 2019

Dr Ken V Loughnan AO

Dr Loughnan AO is Chairman of the Biosciences Research Centre (Agribio) and International President of Variety The Children’s Charity. Previously, he had been Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Telecom Australia’s international businesses for 10 years, operating in 52 countries; Chairman of the Skilled Group; and Chairman of the Bureau of Emergency Services in Victoria for almost 20 years. Dr Loughnan served on the Council of Victoria University from 2003 to 2011 and was Chair of the Victoria University Foundation from 2005 to 2011. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD), of the Australian Institute of Management and of CPA Australia. Ken was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) in 1994 “for outstanding service to international business and the development of global telecommunications”. He was awarded an honorary doctorate (Honoris Causa) by Victoria University in 2014.

2012 – 2015

Major General Professor Jeffrey V Rosenfeld AM, OBE, KStJ

Head, Department of Surgery at Monash University. Director, Department of Neurosurgery, Alfred Hospital. Clinician and prominent researcher with focus on neurotrauma. Major General, Australian Defence Force. Former Surgeon General, Defence Force Reserves. Member of the Order of Australia (2011). Officer of the Most Excellent Order of The British Empire for services in neurosurgery and to the University of PNG School of Medicine (2013).

2005 – 2011

The Hon John Cain

Former Victorian Premier and Professorial Associate in The University of Melbourne’s Department of Political Science and Centre for Public Policy. Director of the MCG Trust and a member of the Patrons Council of the Epilepsy Foundation of Victoria.

1999 – 2005

Mr Frank A Lees AM OBE

Mechanical engineer, awarded an Order of Australia and Membership of the Order of the British Empire, who served with the RAAF during World War II, including time in the Japanese occupation force. He has published his own book of haiku, Haiku Four Seasons.

1996 – 1999

The Hon Justice David L Harper AM

Barrister with a distinguished career at the Victorian Bar (1980-1991) and as Queen’s Counsel in Victoria and in New South Wales, who was appointed to the supreme court and is currently Chair, International Humanitarian Law Advisory Committee of the Red Cross (Victorian branch).

1995 – 1996

Dr Ralph W Howard

Politician, medical practitioner and business executive who had held medical directorships in major pharmaceutical and other industry companies; and university council positions. Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management.

1989 – 1995

Professor Emeritus Kenneth Hunt

World War II veteran and Professor of Engineering and Mechanics who was an instructor at Army College in the Citizen Military forces and Foundation Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at Monash University (1961-1975).

1986 – 1989

Dr Robin L Sharwood AM

Professor of Law, Warden of Trinity College, and canon law reformist with key leadership of the Victorian Law Foundation, discrimination in employment and occupation (1976-1977), Victoria’s criminal justice system (1979-1982) and the Anglican Church of Australia.

1983 – 1986

The Hon Sir John P Minogue

Criminal law barrister and World War I veteran who became Queen’s Counsel in 1957, a member of the Victorian Bar Council (1958-1962), Judge of the Supreme Court of Papua New Guinea, and Chief Justice (1970-1974) and the Victorian Law Reform Commissioner (1977-1982).

1980 – 1983

Rev Dr J Davis McCaughey AC

A bible scholar, church and university administrator who was Governor of Victoria from 1986–1992, Master of Ormond College at The University of Melbourne and inaugural President of the Uniting Church in Australia.

1977 – 1980

Mr Maurice Brown

Administrative staff college head, public service commissioner and university registrar, with key contributions to the Australian Universities’ Commission’s Committee on the Open University, Victoria’s child care system and the Victorian Public Service Board.

1971 – 1977

Dr Phillip G Law

Known as ‘Mr Antarctica’, the leader of Australia’s Antarctic exploration for nearly twenty years, establishing a permanent presence in Antarctica; mapping the Australian Antarctic coastline and focusing on scientific research.

1965 – 1971

Sir James B. Tait

Barrister, company director and 34 years with Equity Trustees (the last 12 as Chairman). Longstanding member of the Victorian Bar Council and chairman of Barristers Chambers.

1961 – 1965

Sir Alexander Fitzgerald

Accountant, educator and local government councillor who contributed to economic reform for Victoria’s water supply, railways, electricity and farming; and for federal and state governments.

1958 – 1961

Sir William W.S. Johnston

Medical practitioner who served in World Wars I and II and as a significant leader in the St. John’s Ambulance, the Australian Red Cross Society, the Melbourne Medical Postgraduate Committee and the Royal Australian College of Physicians.

1957 – 1958

The Hon Sir John S Latham CMG GCMG

Politician and jurist. Retired on appointment as 5th Chief Justice High Court of Australia. In 1925 became Federal Attorney General; and in 1932 was the Australian representative at the Geneva Disarmament Conference.